120. How Do I Delete A User Account Profile
While user profiles are ideal for allowing each user of a PC their
own personal, private, space, they can, depending upon
the settings selected, take up quite a lot of disk
space. It must be remembered that, as well as
general settings, everything stored in the My
Document file, including Photo's and Music
are added to the user profile file.
While it is not a good idea to delete user
profiles in an ad hoc fashion, there maybe times
when, for instance the user purchases a PC of their
own or, in the case of a Company, an employee leaves
his/her employment. that it may become necessary to
completely delete the whole profile.
This is quite a simple matter to achieve;
however, it should be pointed out that you
cannot delete the profile that you are
currently logged in as. The current user profile can
only be deleted by logging in as another user.
To delete a user profile proceed as follows.
Please Note: Once a user profile
has been deleted it has gone forever. You can
re-create the user name, etc, but you will not be
able to recover any of the original user profile
- Make sure you are logged on to your PC as Administrator.
- Click the Start button.
- From the Start Menu click
- In the Control Panel Window
click the User Account Icon.
- In the User Account Window
Click on the icon of the user you wish to delete.
- A new window appears now with the legend
'What do you want to change about ...... Account'
(where ....... is the users name).
- At the bottom of the list of options you will
see Delete the Account. Click on
- In the next window you are asked whether you
want to Keep files or Delete files.
- As you permanently want to delete the profile
click the Delete Files button.
- Another screen will now appear asking if you
are sure you want to delete the account. Press the
Delete Account button.
- The account will now be deleted and you will
be returned to the Main user profile
- Finally close the window.
- You account has now been deleted. All that
remains is for you to close the User account window
by pressing the X in the top right